New Zealand
Eight public universities in a compact, outdoor country.
New Zealand offers study at universities, institutes of technology and polytechnics, and private training providers. The university year usually starts in late February or early March, with a second intake in July. In 2025–2026 the government raised student work hours to 25 a week and widened post-study work options.
Why study here
- Students can usually work up to 25 hours a week in term and full-time in scheduled holidays.
- International PhD students pay the same tuition as New Zealand PhD students, about NZD 6,500–7,500 a year for most subjects.
- Master's and doctoral graduates can get a 3-year Post-Study Work Visa with open work rights.
- Many bachelor's degrees take three years.
At a glance
- Teaching language
- English
- Intakes
- Universities mainly start in late February or early March (Semester One) and in July (Semester Two). For example, the University of Auckland's 2026 semesters began on 2 March and 20 July.
- Bachelor's
- Usually 3 years (360 credits); some professional degrees take 4 years
- Master's
- Usually 1–2 years (120–240 credits; 120 credits is about one year of full-time study)
- PhD
- About 3–4 years full time
- Tuition
- Study with New Zealand gives international fees of about NZD 35,000–55,000 a year for bachelor's degrees and NZD 20,000–45,000 for postgraduate degrees, with medicine and veterinary science costing more (checked October 2026).
How to apply
You apply directly to each university or provider, and an education agent can help. After you get an offer of place, you pay tuition for one year (or the whole course if it is shorter) and apply for your visa online. Immigration New Zealand advises applying at least 3 months before you travel.
From offer to Offer of place
An offer of place is a letter from an approved New Zealand education provider that sets out your course and includes the provider's signed declaration that the course suits your expectations and that you have the English and academic ability to pass it.
Step 1: Get an offer of place
Apply to an approved provider. The offer must state the course name, how long it lasts and whether it is full-time or part-time, and include the provider's signed declaration; you can apply from outside New Zealand with a conditional offer, but you need an unconditional one before the visa is approved.
Official page (opens in a new tab)Step 2: Arrange your tuition payment
You must show you have paid tuition for 1 year of study, or the whole course if it is shorter, for example with a receipt or letter from your provider. If you apply from outside New Zealand you may wait until your visa is approved in principle before paying, though processing then takes longer.
Official page (opens in a new tab)Step 3: Gather your supporting documents
Prepare your passport details and photo, proof of money for living costs (or an acceptable sponsor), and evidence that you can leave New Zealand, such as a ticket or money to buy one. If the rules say you need them, book a chest X-ray or medical exam (less than 3 months old when INZ receives it) and get police certificates (less than 6 months old when you apply).
Official page (opens in a new tab)Step 4: Apply at least 3 months ahead
Apply online at least 3 months before you plan to travel, upload your documents, declare that you will have insurance acceptable to your provider, and pay the fee. October to March is the busiest period, so apply early.
Official page (opens in a new tab)Step 5: Complete approval in principle
Immigration New Zealand will contact you if it needs more information. If you applied with a conditional offer or have not yet paid tuition, send your unconditional offer and proof of payment once your application is approved in principle.
Official page (opens in a new tab)Step 6: Receive your eVisa
If your application is approved you get an eVisa by email. If you are outside New Zealand when it is approved, it is valid from the date you enter.
Official page (opens in a new tab)Step 7: Complete your Traveller Declaration
Submit a New Zealand Traveller Declaration, which you can do from 24 hours before your journey begins. When you arrive you need an onward ticket (or money or a sponsor to pay for one) and proof of money for your living costs.
Official page (opens in a new tab)
Each school adds its own requirements, so follow its admissions instructions too.
Student visa
- Visa
- Fee Paying Student Visa
You need an offer of place from an approved provider, proof that you have paid tuition for one year (or the whole course if shorter), money for living costs and an onward ticket, and insurance acceptable to your provider (PhD students do not need insurance). The visa can last up to 4 years. Apply at least 3 months before you travel, because October to March is the busiest time.
- Proof of funds
- NZD 20,000 for each year of study, or NZD 1,667 a month if you study for less than a year (rule in force in October 2026; effective date not stated).
- Visa fee
- From NZD 850 (as listed by Immigration New Zealand in October 2026; effective date not stated).
Work while you study and after
- While you study
- Up to 25 hours a week during term (raised from 20 hours on 3 November 2025) if your course qualifies, for example full-time study towards a qualification at NZQCF level 4 or higher. Full-time work in scheduled holidays needs at least one academic year of study in a course of at least 120 credits over at least 8 months. Research master's and PhD students have no hour limit, and students whose visa allowed 20 hours before 3 November 2025 can apply to change their conditions.
- After you graduate
- Post-Study Work Visa: up to 3 years with open work rights for degree-level (level 7 or higher) graduates. Master's and doctoral graduates get 3 years if they studied in New Zealand for at least 30 weeks; for other qualifications the visa matches your study time. You need at least NZD 5,000, must usually apply within 3 months of your student visa expiring (6 months for doctorates), can only hold it once, and the fee starts at NZD 1,670. From 16 November 2026, graduate diploma holders who also have a bachelor's degree can qualify (for up to 1 year), and a new 6-month Short-Term Graduate Work Visa opens.